Mackenzie Willis

Defenders Mackenzie Willis, Max Spencer, Matt Gahan and Dan Charlesworth have re-signed for 2023.

All four played critical roles in the Sharks 2022 finals campaign.

Mackenzie Willis played his fiftieth game for the club in 2022 and was vice-captain.

Max Spencer joined the club in 2022 and was a staple in defence.

Matt Gahan the youngest of the four missed the early part of the season due to injury but showed his talent when he returned.

Dan Charlesworth played in all areas of the ground in 2022 especially when Fraser Thurlow went down late in the season, but his preferred position is down back.

Southport Coach Steve Daniel said he was wrapped to have the four re-sign for 2022.

“Defence is a huge part of our game plan, and I’m delighted that Macca, Max, Matt and Dan have decided to re-sign so we can continue to have that stability down back this season.”

The Sharks have now re-signed twelve players, with more re-signing news imminent.

The players that have re-signed for 2023 so far are Jacob Dawson, Brayden Crossley, Fraser Thurlow, Riley Bowman, Jesse Joyce, Zac Foot, Jay Lockhart, Jacob Heron, Mackenzie Willis, Max Spencer, Matt Gahan and Dan Charlesworth.