Southport Sharks has an exciting and interesting football history dating back to when it was founded in 1961. Participating in the Gold Coast Australian Football League and playing its home games at Owen Park, it quickly built up a reputation of being a fiercely competitive and successful club. View our History Website to learn all about the road that lead us to being a community leader in sport, leisure and entertainment today.

When a spirited football team of 22 take to the field, they have the support of over one thousand team members, junior players and administration personnel who proudly wear the Sharks colours.

In 2018, we welcome a new Senior Football Coach to the helm, Steve Daniel, guided by Jarrod Field, our General Manager of Football Operations. Daniel has just completed two seasons as the Gold Coast SUNS NEAFL Coach where they finished 2017 with a Preliminary Final loss to Sydney. They also played finals footy in 2016.

Originally from Victoria, Steve has an impressive record of coaching success. Six senior premierships from 11 Grand Final appearances, he has also coached the representative sides in five different competitions throughout Australia.

“Steve’s experience and record of success is exactly what the club needs,” explains Field. “We are very happy to have Steve onboard for the 2018 and 2019 seasons.”

View the 2017 training camp in Kingscliff below.


Be sure to view all the NEAFL Match Replays via NEAFL’s YouTube Channel. Replays will be available each Monday after the commencement of the round. Check out more Football News to see how the 2018 season is shaping or view how you can support the boys in black and white with our Football Partnership Opportunities.