Selina Priest has made history as the first Southport Sharks player to win the Emma Zielke Medal.

The Emma Zielke Medal is awarded to the QAFLW Best and Fairest using a 3-2-1 voting system.

Priest shared the honour with Maroochydore’s Lily Postlethwaite. The pair polled 15 votes each.

It was enthralling vote count as Priest polled three votes in the last game against Coorparoo to join Postlewaite on top of the leader board.

Priest played a pivotal role for the Sharks both in defence at the start of the year, and up forward later in the year.

The former Brisbane Lions AFLW player was also named captain of the QAFLW Team of the Year at centre half forward.

Jess Malouf (half-back flank), Poppy Boltz (half back flank), Brianna McFarlane (half forward flank) and Ryan Davis (coach) also made the QAFLW Team of the Year.

Southport’s General Manager of Football Jarrod Field said Selina winning the Emma Zilke Medal adds to what has been a fantastic first year in the QAFLW.

He said, “It has been a very satisfying start to QAFLW football for the club. It exceeded expectations with a Reserve grade premiership and a Grand Final appearance for our Senior girls.”