Jacob Dawson

Jacob Dawson has won back-to-back Doc Mackenzie Medals after another quality year for the Sharks.

The medal vote count took place at the Southport Sharks Best & Fairest, held at the Sharks Events Centre on Thursday Night.

It was the first time “The Doc” was not presented by Doc Mackenzie, who unfortunately passed this year. 

Instead, it was presented by the new president – Matthew Schneider.

Each player is awarded 0 to 16 votes in each game, depending on how the coaches saw their performances.

Dawson led by 16 votes at halfway, extending to 40 at the end of the count.

The co-captain averaged 29 possessions, nine clearances and five tackles a game in his 18 games during the home and away season.

Dawson said, “It’s a real honour to win back-to-back Docs. Individual awards in years of strong team performances are special and I’m very grateful to be recognised as a strong contributor in 2022.”

“We have had a great year. Making the VFL Grand Final is a huge achievement. We, unfortunately, fell short and were beaten by the better team, but we’ll be back bigger and better in 2023.”

“Personally, I think I had a consistent year. I am privileged to play with a great midfield and makes my job easy. I look forward to working with them again next year as I believe we work well together.”

At the VFL Awards, Dawson finished second in the JJ Liston Trophy (VFL Best & Fairest), made the VFL Team of the Year, and won the VFL Coaches MVP.

Boyd Woodcock who finished joint second in the JJ Liston Trophy and also made the VFL Team of the Year, finished second in the Doc Mackenzie Medal.

Woodcock was awarded the Sharks’ best finals player. In the finals Woodcock averaged 34 disposals, seven clearances and four tackles over the final series.

Max Pescud finished third in the Doc Medal in his first year at the Sharks.

The exciting 20-year-old was also awarded the Wally Fankhauser Memorial Trophy.

Rhys Clark (fourth in the Doc Medal) was awarded the “Ken McDonald Most Dedicated Player”, and Brayden Crossley (fifth in the Doc Medal) was awarded the Coaches Award.

The John Gonard Trademark Award is presented to the player who the playing group believes upholds their values the most.

This year’s award was presented to Jesse Joyce, and the VFL Most Professional Award was awarded to Rhys King.

Southport Sharks Best & Fairest VFL Awards 

Best & Fairest (Doc MacKenzie Medal): Jacob Dawson

Gerry Carmody Best Finals Player: Boyd Woodcock

Wally Fankhauser Memorial Trophy: Max Pescud

Coaches Award: Brayden Crossley

Ken McDonald Most Dedicated Player: Rhys Clark

VFL Most Professional Player: Rhys King

John Gonard Trademark Award: Jesse Joyce