The Southport Sharks have finalised their VFL Development List (players under 22) for this year.

Southport’s General Manager of Football Jarrod Field is happy with the final list, which has a total of 19 Queenslanders on both their Primary and Development Lists.

Field said, “It is great to have so many Queenslanders at the club.”

“We need to be the pathway for any kid that doesn’t get drafted to be able to stay in Queensland and play VFL rather than needing to move to Melbourne or playing SANFL or WAFL.”

“The great thing about playing at Sharks is you get to live on the Gold Coast and play in the VFL at a club with a tremendous history.”

Over the pre-season there were over 20 players who trained with the squad in an attempt to receive one of the final 10 list spots.

The final decisions on the list were made after all the Under 22 players in the squad played QAFL Seniors side Palm Beach Currumbin in a practice match.

The final score was Southport 18.3 (111) to Palm Beach Currumbin 6.6 (42).

The side was coached by Southport’s Development Coach, Scott Mathers.

Mathers’ role during the season is to watch the players who miss out on VFL team selection and provide indvidual feedback on their performance at QAFL level.

Field said, “To beat a Senior QAFL side by 11 goals shows how impressive our young players are.”

“It was very hard to do the final cut because it was the best group we have ever had train with us over the pre-season. They gave it everything and their attitudes were fantastic.”

“Unfortunately though, some had to miss out, but we will be watching them closely this year to see how they play and if they go well, they will be invited back in November.”

There are 28 players on Southport’s Primary List and 14 on the Development List.

In the VFL, each standalone club must play at a minimum three players from the Development List every week.

Max Pescud, Tom Reeves and Corey Joyce, who all made their club debuts last year, remain on the Development List.

Joining them this year are Jed Foggo (Palm Beach Currumbin/Gold Coast Suns Academy), Zach Molloy (Collingwood VFL), Jack Sexton (Richmond VFL), Byron Finch (Peel Thunder), Noah Bradshaw (Wodonga/Murray Bushrangers), Ethan Sekac (Palm Beach Currumbin/Gold Coast Suns Academy), Cooper Anderson (Labrador), Harry Law (Labrador), Jye Lockett, (Broadbeach/ Gold Coast Suns Academy), Fletcher Hooker (Lauderdale), Hamilton Howard (Broadbeach/Gold Coast Suns Academy).

Field said, “We have great depth in our list and have a number of boys that already have VFL experience already, which is fantastic.”

Photo (Left to Right) : Jye Lockett, Harry Law, Ethan Sekac, Byron Finch, Cooper Anderson, Fletcher Hooker, Hamilton Howard and Noah Bradshaw.